The South Wales International Tournament is currently taking place and may be followed through the WCU website.


Steve Smith is the new Club Quickplay champion. His strong player under time pressure payed dividends as he managed to stay unbeaten, drawing his last two games with Martyn Griffiths and Michael Beck to score 4/5. Michael finished on 3.5, having previously lost to Martyn. The latter could have won the title outright but lost in the last round to Anthony Beck.

1st – Steve Smith 4

2nd/3rd – Martyn Griffiths, Michael Beck 3.4

4th – Anthony Beck, Louis Ba Thein, Dennis Thomas 3

Dylan Greenway retained the Junior Quickplay title.


The first round of the 2018 Club Championships. All games are with 30 minutes on the clock for all moves.

Steve Smith v. Michael Beck
Louis Ba Thein v. Hywel Griffiths
Martyn Griffiths v. Anthony Beck

Dennis Thomas v. Dylan Greenway
Stephen Lloyd-Brown v. Byron Jones
Andrew Powell v. John Davies