Quickplay Tournament 2017

The South Wales International Tournament is currently taking place and may be followed through the WCU website.


Steve Smith is the new Club Quickplay champion. His strong player under time pressure payed dividends as he managed to stay unbeaten, drawing his last two games with Martyn Griffiths and Michael Beck to score 4/5. Michael finished on 3.5, having previously lost to Martyn. The latter could have won the title outright but lost in the last round to Anthony Beck.

1st – Steve Smith 4

2nd/3rd – Martyn Griffiths, Michael Beck 3.4

4th – Anthony Beck, Louis Ba Thein, Dennis Thomas 3

Dylan Greenway retained the Junior Quickplay title.


The first round of the 2018 Club Championships. All games are with 30 minutes on the clock for all moves.

Steve Smith v. Michael Beck
Louis Ba Thein v. Hywel Griffiths
Martyn Griffiths v. Anthony Beck

Dennis Thomas v. Dylan Greenway
Stephen Lloyd-Brown v. Byron Jones
Andrew Powell v. John Davies

West Wales Executive Meeting June 2017

The West Wales executive committee met last week and sorted out plans for the league next season.

The split is Div. 1 : 7 teams, Div 2 : 9 teams Div 3: 10 teams.

Division One is still 7 teams playing each other 3 times , i.e. 18 matches.

Morriston B will be playing in Division Two and Nidum B have been promoted in their place.

Divsion Two will consist of 9 teams playing each other twice. Some nice matches there v. De La Beche who will be led by Chris Price – formerly well over 2000 rated, and Morrison B.

Division Three will consist of 10 teams playing each other twice, i.e. 18 games. This will be tough for the Tribunes and Dennis will need plenty of support to ensure he can vary the team (a couple more players would not go amiss). There are a number of new teams competing this year which is good and Div 3 will be double round not treble round.

Division 1 Division 2 Division 3
BF All Blacks BF Giants BF Brunel
BF Nidum CN Emperors CN Tribunes
Morriston A De la Beche A Commercial Inn
Swansea University A Morriston B De la Beche B
White Knights A Morriston C De la Beche C
White Knights B Morriston D Morriston E
White Knights C Swansea University B Morriston F
UK Merlins St Michael’s School
White Knights D UK Harriers
UK Hawks

Netsima Chess Tournament 2017

The annual Netsima Junior Championships run by Hywel were disappointing this year with only 11 turning up.

The small Under 9 section was won by Muhamed Muscahiber of St. Michael’s.  The Under 11s was shared by two St. Michael’s boys who live in Neath, James Lester and Danny Lin.  The former was somewhat fortunate in at least one of his games and the best player seemed to be Danny who beat James in their individual game.  The U16 title was won by Jack Cummin.

Go to Top