AGM 2019

  • Chairman (Martyn), Secretary (Hywel) and Treasurer (John) were all re-elected.
  • Dylan, Anthony, Stephen and Andrew were elected as Committee Members.
  • Anthony continues as web-manager and Mrs Jill Thomas as Honarary Auditor.
Presentations were made as follows:
  • Club Champion: Hywel Griffiths
  • Major Champion: Louis Ba Thein
  • Minor Champion (2018): Andrew Powell and Dennis Thomas
  • Quickplay Champion (18): Steve Smith
  • Junior Quickplay (18): Dylan Greenway and Stephen Lloyd-Brown
  • Rookie of the Year: Joshua Morgan
  • Clubman of the Year: Martyn Griffiths
  • Most Improved Player: Byron Jones

Open Simultaneous Display 2019

Castell Nedd Chess Club meets every Tuesday at Tonna Rugby Club (7pm) SA11 3HX and all chess players are welcome regardless of age or ability.

On Tuesday 21st May the club will be having a special evening for those who have perhaps never been to a chess club before or those who haven’t played for a while. One of the club members will take on all-comers. Simultaneous displays can involve dozens of players but due to time restrictions this one will have a limit of about 30. The display is a spectacle in itself but it also gives a weaker player the chance to play against and even beat someone who is much stronger as he has only seconds to think about each move.

If you play chess and have ever wondered how good you are, now is your opportunity to take part. Just turn up and enjoy. No charge. Come along and watch if you like.

There will be a special prize of a year’s free club membership for the best game played by a non-club member (someone not previously rated).

Book your place via the club website or ring 01639 636332 or email. Come along and watch if you don’t want to play. It is all free of charge.

Go to Top